figure

Cleaning the annulus of the T-506 heat exchanger of the shell-and-tube type

At the end of the summer of 2017, the  Kazanorgsintez Company applied to the ASGARD Service Company with an order for cleaning the T-506 shell-and-tube heat exchanger of the Ethylene Plant. The annular volume is 0.453 m3.


Picture 1. T-506 heat exchanger

During the discussion of future work with the customer, information that this heat exchanger has not been cleaned for the past several years was received. They tried to carry out the cleaning by the forces of the customer, but this led nowhere. The main type of pollution of the annular space was polymer deposits.


Picture 2. Connecting equipment to the system

After setting the task for cleaning the intertube space, our employees developed a plan for future production work. According to the plan, the company had to proceed a chemical washing of the heat exchanger with a solvent and then clean the intertube space using a pneumatic pulse unit. After agreeing on the plan, our employees started to implement it.

Initially, the heat exchanger was shut off from the working circuit and the tightness of the closed space was checked.


Picture 3. Connecting the pump to the system

At the next stage of work, experts completed the pump installation and device pressure testing to check it for any defects as well as to check the operability of the circuit. Then, water was drained (air bleeding) and the system was filled with a reagent in compliance with all possible personal protective measures.

The system filled with the solvent was kept static for 4 hours. After that, the solvent has been circulating in the system for 2 days with a transfer to a static position at night time. At night, the person on duty checked the system every 3 hours. After 2 days, the solvent was drained from the system, and the circuit was filled with water. A pneumatic pulse unit was connected to the system and the device was shot through.

Thanks to the use of a 50 liter cylinder and a 8 bar pressure, much better work results were achieved than those by previous performers.


Picture 4. Heat exchanger opening process

After opening the heat exchanger, the customer revealed that the shell side of the heat exchanger was cleaned by 40-50%.


Picture 5. Heat exchanger after opening

The heat exchanger was put into operation; its performance in terms of pressure, permeability and heat transfer significantly improved compared to the parameters before cleaning.

Flushing allowed cleaning the equipment only partially due to poor organization of its maintenance. Untimely maintenance and cleaning of the heat exchanger leads to uneven permeability of the intertube space/tubes/channels. Because of this, even the correct selected reagent circulates in the system along a path with minimal resistance leading to only partial cleaning of the equipment.


Picture 6. Sample of deposits taken

When using the CIP procedure to clean the heat exchanger, it is recommended to set its performance to more than 20%. This is most important for demountable heat exchangers.

figure

Очистку межтрубного пространства теплообменника «Т-506» кожухотрубного типа

Очистка межтрубного пространства (объём 0,453 м3) теплообменника «Т-506» кожухотрубного типа.

В конце лета 2017-го года в компанию «АСГАРД-Сервис» обратилось предприятие «Казаньоргсинтез» с заказом на очистку межтрубного пространства теплообменника «Т-506» кожухотрубного типа завода Этилен. Объем межтрубного пространства равняется 0,453 м3.


Рисунок 1. Теплообменник Т-506

В ходе обсуждения будущих работ с заказчиком была получена информация о том, что данный теплообменник не чистили последние несколько лет. Очистку пытались выполнить силами заказчика, но это ни к чему не привело. Главным типом загрязнения межтрубного пространства являлись полимерные отложения.


Рисунок 2. Подключение оборудования к системе

После постановки задачи на очистку межтрубного пространства, наши сотрудники подготовили план будущих производственных работ. По плану компания должна была осуществить химическую промывку теплообменника растворителем, а затем выполнить очистку межтрубного пространства с помощью пневмоимпульсной установки. После согласования плана, наши сотрудники приступили к его реализации.

Изначально выполнялось перекрытие теплообменника от рабочего контура и проверка герметичности закрытого пространства.


Рисунок 3. Подключение насоса к системе

На следующем этапе работ специалисты выполнили монтаж насоса и опрессовку устройства для ее проверки на наличие любых дефектов, а также для проверки работоспособности контура. Далее был выполнен слив воды (спуск воздуха) и заполнение системы реагентом с соблюдением всех возможных мер личной защиты.

Заполненная растворителем система была выдержана в статике на протяжении 4 часов. После этого в течение 2 суток растворитель циркулировал в системе с переводом в статическое положения в ночное время суток. По ночам система проверялась дежурным каждые 3 часа. По истечении 2 суток растворитель слили из системы, а контур заполнили водой. К системе подключили пневмоимпульсную установку и выполнили прострелы устройства.

За счет использования баллона емкостью на 50 литров и давления в 8 бар удалось достичь намного лучших результатов работ, чем у предыдущих исполнителей.


Рисунок 4. Процесс вскрытия теплообменника

После вскрытия теплообменника заказчиком было выявлено, что межтрубное пространство теплообменника было очищено на 40-50%.


Рисунок 5. Теплообменник после вскрытия

Теплообменник был запущен в эксплуатацию, его показатели работы по давлению, проходимости и теплообмену существенно улучшились, по сравнению с параметрами до выполнения очистки.

Промывка позволила лишь частично очистить оборудование из-за плохой организации его технического обслуживания. Несвоевременное обслуживание и чистка теплообменника приводит к неравномерной проходимости межтрубного пространства/трубок/каналов. Из-за этого даже правильный подобранный реагент циркулирует в системе по траектории с минимальным сопротивлением, что приводит лишь к частичной очистке оборудования.


Рисунок 6. Проба взятых отложений

При использовании методики безразборной химической промывки для очистки теплообменника, рекомендуется на «запускать» эксплуатационные характеристики более чем на 20%. Это наиболее актуально для теплообменников неразборного типа.